So, farewell then, 2012

Well, it’s after 5 and already dark, and the end of the year is upon us. Before I go out with old friends to celebrate the turning of the page of the calendar, I’ve been having a look back at this momentous year.

It started badly, it has to be said, as on the very first day of the year my relationship of 7 months or so fell in tatters around my knees, nay ankles, and I was eventually moved to write a poem ….

Gravy

I had a gravy stirrer

He’s not been here of late

Perhaps he’s stirring gravy

For some other woman’s plate

My gravy stirrer left me

That chapter’s at an end

Bisto* on me the skills I need

To make my own sauce blend

*For those who don’t know, Bisto is a brand of instant gravy in the UK.

Gloom descended on my life and sat there refusing to budge for several months, lifting briefly when my daughter was offered a place at university, but returning when my elderly mother was diagnosed with breast cancer. She pulled through, thankfully, and we hope that is all behind us now.

Starting this blog has really helped me get past that first half of the year. I’ve surprised myself  by occasionally writing something half decent and even taking some passable snaps with my camera.Mutha

My daughter went off to university and I missed her more than I ever thought possible. Now she’s back for the holidays and reminding me how I should be thankful that she’s not in the house full-time.

And so I’m not sorry to see the back of 2012. Next year brings all manner of new trials and adventures as my son sits his high school exams and hopefully makes steps towards a new stage in his life, and my beloved sister and brother-in-law pack up and move away from this village they have called home for 26 years.

Wishing you all happiness and peace in the coming year.

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

2 responses to “So, farewell then, 2012

Leave a Reply

