Summer, piece by piece

shirtwaisterI have a whole fortnight off work! This is one of the many positive aspects of working in a school. Unfortunately, my self-discipline is low, and, knowing I don’t have to be up and about at 7am, I often stay up too late watching movies or browsing the internet then feel below par the next day. After a week or two of this, I’m generally ready to return to the routine of work!

wardrobe 005Today I tackled two dresses I cut out weeks ago and managed to get them both finished. The polka dot is from a pattern I’d used before, so I knew it was a winner. The green is cut from a new pattern, so I made it up in a length of fabric I’d had hanging around for years. That way if there were insurmountable problems with the fit, it wouldn’t be too precious. As it turns out, both dresses were successful and now I just need the weather to wear them.

After a midwinter spending spree at my local fabric shop (20% discounts due to closing down) I have six more dress lengths waiting to be tranformed into my brand new summer wardrobe, and three dress patterns to base them on. Each pattern has several neckline and sleeve options, so no two dresses need be the same. Green dress is from New Look 6587. Turquoise dress is from New Look 6805.

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

2 responses to “Summer, piece by piece

Leave a Reply

