A Space for Art

Once a year (if I’m lucky) I get to accompany one of our school’s art teachers to GCSE Moderation Day – representatives from four or five local schools bring a pre-requested sample of their pupils’ artwork and it is all re-marked by the group. This will show up any anomalies in marking and ensure that all the work is looked at fairly. It is one of my favourite days of the year; a day of wonderment and delight at the amazing talent of so many of our fifteen and sixteen year olds. Today was that day.

In the inspiring setting of Ilfracombe Art College, atop a hill overlooking the town and the stunning coastal scenery, seventy one portfolios were scrutinised, representing four schools in the area. Amid the oohs, aahs (and a few ooers), helped by copious amounts of hot tea, consensus was reached and minor adjustments to marksheets made where necessary.

We finished in time to make a quick tour of the ‘A’ Level exhibition upstairs where students of eighteen years were showing their work of two years which they hope will get them a place at university. It was stunning.   …click on pics to enlarge…

I have decided that I will make my own portfolio and enter the GCSE next summer (or the following one if needs be) as I didn’t have any art instruction after the age of fourteen. Watch this space!

A level art Installation

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

2 responses to “A Space for Art

  • theoriginalmiss

    Hi Bridge, I think it’s great that you have decided to do GCSE Art. Remember I started to put my portfolio together for art school in Tokyo? I actually failed my A level Art back in the day but am now an artist having put that portfolio together, finished a foundation course and an honours degree in Fine Art at Middlesex University- just goes to show…. I think you’ll do really well; you’re obviously talented, keen and disciplined – that’s all you need! Good luck! Px

Leave a Reply

