Twice as nice

I’ve just made two dresses using a new-to-me pattern, Burda 8071. It’s a fairly simple sundress with three bodice options, and uses about a two metres of fabric, a 14″ zip and a metre and a half of ¼” elastic.

I had a lovely cotton batik sarong from Indonesia which I’ve been saving for a rainy day, and it proved to be ideal for this project. weaversstories-giat-sarongI had to think carefully about my pattern layout, as these sarongs often have a contrasting panel which takes up about a quarter of the fabric area (see right for a typical example of this).

I placed the contrasting panel across the front of my dress skirt and also on the back of the bodice so my dress has different front and back views. I love the outcome and had a lot of favourable comments today which are always very welcome.

I made the same dress in black and white, hence twice as nice.

click on any pic to view large …

This has been my 100th post.

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

3 responses to “Twice as nice

Leave a Reply

