Eames Era shift dress: New Look 6095

I spent a lot of money on this abstract 1950s cotton fabric; a 2 yard length, only 36″ wide, set me back £32, but I absolutely fell in love with it and had to have it. I found it in my local vintage clothing shop, Donna Flower in Barnstaple, North Devon, which also sells online. The website is well worth a visit if you are interested in textiles and haberdashery from the last century. I couldn’t fit my pattern pieces on my short length of fabric, so used a half metre of linen/viscose mix to make a contrasting panel. I used a strip of bias cut from the same blue linen to make a band round the sleeves. My pattern is a very simple shift dress, New Look 6095, with cap sleeves, centre back zipper, vertical darts at the back, and bust darts at the front. It took a couple of hours from start to finish. I have made it for Sunday brunch after the wedding I am going to in May. I need to make one more outfit for the rehearsal dinner on the evening before the wedding. Watch this space.DSC_0308

….click on any pic to view large….

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

2 responses to “Eames Era shift dress: New Look 6095

Leave a Reply

