Ultimate Fashion Hollywood

DSC_0004Sewing season is here again. With a fortnight’s holiday, Easter is always the time when my thoughts turn to making new clothes for myself. I am going to a wedding next month and have had a piece of fabric and a pattern earmarked for the occasion for sometime, and am pleased to report that my new dress is complete. The pattern is a Vogue original from 1956-57 reissued in 2008 as a winner of the Vintage Vogue contest. Vogue has an ongoing call for old dressmaking patterns from home sewers, and every year they will reissue four which they feel would be popular. I was surprised to learn that although Vogue has an archive of its catalogues, it does not have an archive of actual patterns. The pattern I have used is V1044, submitted to the contest by Bonnie Hollen; I hope she would be pleased with my end result. Apart from including multiple sizes in one pattern envelope, rather than the single sizes of yore, the manufacturers stick with the same fit and original notions, although the instructions have been modernised. The pattern called for sew-in interfacing which I substitued for iron-on, and grosgrain ribbon for an inside belt which I didn’t make. I may realise the benefit of this and add it at a later stage.  …click on pic to view large…

There were a lot of processes involved in making this dress, and it took a lot of fabric, but I am so pleased with the end result and feel that all the time it took was well worth it. I made a belt with buckle and eyelets, which was a first, sewed decorative tucks, made buttonholes and fabric covered buttons. The most difficult part was joining the upper and lower bodice parts together, trying to match the pattern of the fabric and manipulating the yoke/armhole/sleeve (which was none of these but a combination of all three). I bought my fabric from Middlesex Textiles in London – they stock a huge range of amazingly colourful printed fabrics, many inspired by African and Indonesian batiks. 6 yards of fabric cost me only £16.00, and the fullness of the skirt meant I had very little left over. The selvedge is printed with the words “THE BEST OF ULTIMATE FASHION HOLLYWOOD”, hence the name of this post. I have today received a few more lengths of fabric from the same supplier, and can’t wait to get “Veritable Super Julia” and “Afristyle Gold Wax” on the cutting table.

It was a beautiful day to take some photos out the front of my house, and although the mannequin is rather misshapen and has seen better days, my dress looks pretty good gleaming in the sunshine. The gold printed over the green reflects the light really well.   DSC_0303 DSC_0302

About Bridget

observing; sometimes quietly View all posts by Bridget

Leave a Reply

